Eamonn Keogh, an associate professor of computer science and engineering who researches data mining, databases and artificial intelligence, has been named a University Scholar this year.

Keogh becomes the 10th University Scholar on campus.

Selected and presented by the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost, the award recognizes early-career, tenured faculty of outstanding merit.

“The University Scholar program is an opportunity to help our rising stars achieve their potential,” said Elizabeth Lord, the vice provost for academic personnel. “There was keen competition this year with many deserving young scholars, but only a single award to give out. This year we asked the previously appointed University Scholars to take part in the selection process.”

Keogh, who joined UCR in 2001, studies topics related to time-series problems. His work has made important contributions to computer science. In a groundbreaking paper, he first proposed a method for “lower bounding” the distance between time series – an idea used by more than 150 research groups worldwide that is at the heart of most current algorithms to index music, motion capture data and historical archives of text.

He also has developed the “SAX” (Symbolic Aggregate approXimation) time series representation, used to analyze various data, including telemedicine time series, biometric data, motion capture data, robotic sensor data, spatiotemporal data, music performances, magnetic resonance imaging data, environmental acoustic data, financial data, gene data and network traffic data.

One of the most cited researchers in his field, Keogh has published more than 110 research papers, with more than a dozen of them each securing at least 100 citations. The winner of several best papers awards at top conferences in computer science, Keogh also received the Bourns College of Engineering’s Outstanding Teacher Award in 2004.

“Professors like him are rare indeed and are a tremendous asset to UCR,” said Laxmi Bhuyan, chair of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering.

This year, nine faculty members were nominated for the University Scholar awards. Nominations were made campuswide by deans, chairs and institute/center directors. Keogh’s selection for the prestigious award was decided by the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost with consultation from the vice chancellor for research, the vice provost for academic personnel and the present University Scholars. Candidates for the award need to be at least associate professors and must demonstrate strong evidence of innovative and highly visible research programs. Each award recipient holds the University Scholar title for three years and receives $25,000 annually in research support. The University Scholars program receives financial support from the chancellor’s discretionary funds.