Cortes Receives Honorary Doctorate
Carlos Cortes, professor of history emeritus, received an honorary doctorate from the DePaul University School of Education in June. Cortes delivered the commencement address. He previously received an honorary doctorate from the College of Wooster.

This summer also marked the 10th anniversary for Nickelodeon’s “Dora the Explorer,” for which Cortes is the creative and cultural adviser. He serves in the same capacity for another hit Nickelodeon program, “Go, Diego, Go!”

Soil Science Fellows Announced
The Soil Science Society of America (SSSA) has announced 13 2010 SSSA Fellows, three of whom are at UCR. All the new fellows will be recognized at a special awards ceremony during the society’s annual meeting on Oct. 31-Nov. 3 in Long Beach, Calif.

Members of the society nominate worthy colleagues based on their professional achievements and meritorious service. Only 0.3 percent of the society’s active and emeritus members may be elected fellows.

The 2010 class of SSSA Fellows at UCR are:

Jianying Gan, a professor of environmental chemistry. He also serves as a water quality specialist through UC’s Agricultural and Natural Resources Division. Gan received B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. degree from Zhejiang University in China. His research and extension program focuses mainly on environmental fate and impacts of organic contaminants such as pesticides and protection of water quality.

Jirka Simunek, a professor and hydrologist in the Department of Environmental Sciences. He received a M.S. from the Czech Technical University, and Ph.D. from the Czech Academy of Sciences, both in Prague, Czech Republic. His program focuses mainly on the development and application of numerical models simulating water flow and solute transport on soils.

Laosheng Wu, a professor and cooperative extension water management specialist in the Department of Environmental Sciences. He received a B.S. from Zhejiang University, China, M.S. degree from Oregon State University, and Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota. His program focuses mainly on characterizing soil physical properties and processes and developing the best management practices to conserve soil and water. He has served as the associate and interim director of the University of California Center for Water Resources, and the California State Extension water quality coordinator.

Yan Honored for Significant Contributions
Yushan Yan, professor and chair of the Bourns College of Engineering department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering, was presented with the 2010 Donald W. Breck Award by the International Zeolite Association (IZA) at the 16th International Zeolite Conference (IZC), held jointly with the 7th International Mesostructured Materials Symposium, July 4 to 9 in Sorrento, Italy.

The Breck award, which is given at the association’s meeting every three years, honors an individual or group who has made the most significant contribution to molecular sieve science and technology.

According to IZA President François Fajula, “The 2010 Breck Award is given to Yushan Yan and Ryong Ryoo for their respective contributions in advancing the science of zeolite thin films and the direct synthesis of zeolite nanosheets.” Ryoo is a professor of chemistry at the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology in Daejeon, South Korea.

Yan’s research focuses on zeolite thin films as insulators for computer chips, corrosion-resistant coatings for aerospace alloys, and hydrophilic and antimicrobial coatings for water separation in a space station. Another research interest of his is fuel cell catalysts and membranes.

Jeske Elected Fellow of Prestigious Association
Daniel Jeske, a professor of statistics and the chair of the Department of Statistics, has been elected a fellow of the prestigious American Statistical Association (ASA). He was recognized at the association’s annual meeting in August for “novel development and applications of statistical methodology to practical problems, and for leadership in administrative and mentoring roles.”

The ASA is the world’s largest community of statisticians and the second-oldest continuously operating professional society in the United States.